Euslogan
Select your languague:
Acheter Proscar (Finasteride 5mg) en ligne de l'UE pharmacies enregistrées
Eudoctor

Proscar


Qu’est-ce que le Proscar ?

Le Proscar baissera la production de testostérone dans le corps grâce à son principe actif, le finastéride. Étant donné que la testostérone stimule la croissance de la prostate, ce médicament s’avère vital pour arrêter ce processus. Le Proscar résoud les problèmes urinaires provoqués par l’hypertrophie de la prostate. Cette affection, l’hyperplasie prostatique bégnine, provoque les symptà´mes suivants : besoin constant d’uriner (surtout la nuit), faible jet urinaire souvent interrompu et fuites urinaires. Les problèmes prostatiques et urinaires étant courants chez les hommes plus âgés, le Proscar est la solution parfaite pour les traiter.

Prix du Proscar et où acheter:
       Traitment Posologie Quantité Par pilule Prix Acheter
Proscar Proscar 5mg 30 €2.86 €85.70 Acheter

PHARMACODYNAMIQUE

Le finastéride est un inhibiteur spécifique de la 5-alpha réductase de type II, une enzyme intracellulaire qui convertit la testostérone en androgène plus actif, la dihydrotestostérone (DHT). Avec l'HBP, son augmentation dépend de la conversion de la testostérone en DHT dans les tissus de la prostate. Le finastéride réduit fortement la DHT circulante et intra-prostatique. Le finastéride n'est pas lié aux récepteurs aux androgènes. Lors des essais cliniques menés chez des patients présentant des manifestations modérées à sévères d’HBP, une hypertrophie de la prostate au cours de l’examen rectal digital et un faible volume résiduel dans l’urine, Proscar a réduit la fréquence de rétention urinaire aiguë de 7/100 à 3/100 en quatre ans et pour chirurgie (transurétrorésection de la prostate et prostatectomie) du 10/100 au 5/100. Cette diminution s'est accompagnée d'une amélioration de 2 points de l'échelle de score des symptômes QUASI-AUA (plage de 0 à 34), d'une régression significative du volume de la prostate d'environ 20% et d'une augmentation significative du débit urinaire. L'étude MTOPS (Traitement médical des symptômes prostatiques) était une étude de 4 à 6 ans portant sur 3 047 hommes atteints d'HBP symptomatique randomisés en finastéride, 5 mg / jour, doxazosine, 4 ou 8 mg / jour, combinaisons de finastéride, 5 mg / jour. et doxazosine, 4 ou 8 mg / jour, ou un placebo. Le point de suivi principal était le temps écoulé jusqu'à la progression clinique de l'HBP (défini comme une augmentation de 4 points ou plus sur le score symptomatique depuis le début, un épisode de rétention urinaire aiguë associée à l'HBP, une insuffisance rénale, une récidive des voies urinaires infection ou urosepsis, ou incontinence urinaire). Par rapport au placebo, traitement au finastéride,

PHARMACOCINÉTIQUE

Chez les hommes, après l'administration d'une dose unique de finastéride marqué au 14 C, isotopes du carbone, 39% de la dose absorbée étaient excrétés dans l'urine sous forme de métabolites (vraisemblablement, une petite quantité de finastéride inchangé était également excrétée dans l'urine). 57% de la dose prise était excrétée dans les fèces. Des études ont également montré que les deux métabolites du finastéride ont tendance à avoir un effet inhibiteur moins prononcé sur la 5-alpha réductase. La biodisponibilité orale du finastéride est d'environ 80%. Manger n'affecte pas la biodisponibilité du médicament. La concentration maximale de finastéride dans le plasma sanguin est atteinte 2 heures après l'administration orale. L'absorption du médicament par le tractus gastro-intestinal se termine 6 à 8 heures après l'administration. La demi-vie du finastéride dans le plasma sanguin est en moyenne de 6h00. Liaison des protéines plasmatiques sanguines - 93%.

À un âge avancé, le taux d'excrétion du finastéride est quelque peu réduit. Chez les hommes âgés de plus de 70 ans, la demi-vie du finastéride est d'environ 8 heures, alors que chez les personnes âgées de 18 à 60 ans, elle est de 6 heures. Mais ce n'est pas une indication pour arrêter le médicament chez les personnes âgées.

Chez les patients atteints d'insuffisance rénale chronique (clairance de la créatinine comprise entre 9 et 55 ml / min), il n'y avait pas de différence entre le taux d'excrétion d'une dose unique de finastéride marqué avec l'isotope du carbone 14 C et celui de volontaires sains. La liaison aux protéines plasmatiques chez ces groupes de patients ne différait pas non plus. Cela est dû au fait que, chez les patients insuffisants rénaux, le pourcentage de métabolites du finastéride, qui dans des conditions normales est excrété dans l'urine, est excrété dans les selles. Ceci est confirmé par une augmentation du nombre de métabolites du finastéride dans les matières fécales chez ces patients, tout en réduisant leur concentration dans les urines. En rapport avec l'administration chez les patients insuffisants rénaux ne présentant pas d'hémodialyse, un ajustement de la posologie de Proscar n'est pas nécessaire.

Il n’existe aucune donnée sur la pharmacocinétique du médicament chez les patients insuffisants hépatiques.

Le finastéride traverse la barrière hémato-encéphalique. Une petite quantité de finastéride a été mise en évidence dans le liquide séminal.

LES INDICATIONS

Traitement et contrôle de l'hyperplasie bénigne de la prostate (HBP) chez les patients présentant une hypertrophie de la prostate afin de:

  • réduction de la taille (régression) de la glande élargie, amélioration de l'écoulement de l'urine et réduction des symptômes associés à l'HBP;
  • Réduire le risque de rétention urinaire aiguë et la nécessité d'une intervention chirurgicale, y compris la résection transurétrale de la prostate et la prostatectomie.

CONTRE-INDICATIONS

Hypersensibilité au finastéride ou à l’un des composants de ce médicament. Proscar n'est pas indiqué chez les femmes et les enfants.

Grossesse: à utiliser chez les femmes enceintes ou susceptibles de l’être (voir rubrique "Utilisation pendant la grossesse ou l’allaitement").

DOSAGE ET ADMINISTRATION

La dose recommandée est de 1 comprimé de 5 mg une fois par jour pendant ou indépendamment de la prise de nourriture. Proscar a peut être utilisé en monothérapie en association avec la doxazosine, un alpha-bloquant (voir rubrique "Propriétés pharmacologiques").

La durée du traitement est déterminée individuellement par le médecin. Bien que l'on puisse observer une amélioration des symptômes plus tôt, il faut au moins six mois pour prendre l'efficacité du médicament afin d'évaluer l'efficacité de l'action, après quoi il est nécessaire de poursuivre le traitement.

Chez les patients âgés et chez les patients présentant une insuffisance rénale de gravité variable (diminution de la clairance de la créatinine à 9 ml / min), aucun ajustement de la dose n'est nécessaire.

Il n’existe aucune donnée sur l’utilisation de ce médicament chez les patients présentant une insuffisance hépatique. Ne pas utiliser chez les enfants.

PRÉCAUTIONS, CONTRÔLE DE THÉRAPIE

Les femmes susceptibles de devenir enceintes ou enceintes devraient éviter tout contact avec les comprimés de Proscar® écrasés ou celles qui ont perdu leur intégrité.

Les données disponibles sur la libération d'une petite quantité de finastéride par le sperme de la patiente ont pris 5 mg de finastéride / jour. On ignore si le fœtus de sexe masculin peut être affecté négativement par le fait que le sperme de la patiente a influencé sa mère et a été traité au finastéride. Si le partenaire sexuel du patient ou est potentiellement enceinte, il est conseillé au patient d'éviter l'exposition au sperme sur le partenaire.

En raison de la capacité des inhibiteurs de la 5-alpha réductase de type II à inhiber la conversion de la testostérone en dihydrotestostérone, ces médicaments, y compris le finastéride, peuvent perturber le développement des organes génitaux externes du fœtus masculin. 

Les comprimés de Proscar sont enrobés, ce qui évite le contact avec l'ingrédient actif, à condition que les comprimés ne soient pas écrasés et qu'ils n'aient pas perdu leur intégrité.

  • Utilisez pendant l'allaitement.
  • Proscar n'est pas montré aux femmes. Inconnu, le finastéride pénètre dans le lait maternel.
  • Proscar est contre-indiqué chez les enfants.
  • La sécurité et l'efficacité de l'utilisation de la drogue chez les enfants n'ont pas été établies.
  • événements généraux

Il est nécessaire de surveiller attentivement l'apparition éventuelle d'une uropathie obstructive chez les patients présentant un volume résiduel urinaire important et / ou un débit urinaire fortement réduit.

Les avantages cliniques du traitement par Proscaroma chez les patients atteints d'un cancer de la prostate n'ont pas encore été démontrés. Des patients présentant un adénome de la prostate et des taux de PSA élevés ont été observés dans des essais cliniques contrôlés comportant plusieurs définitions de PSA et une biopsie de la prostate. Dans ces études, le traitement par proscarome n’a pas d’incidence sur l’incidence du cancer de la prostate. L'incidence globale du cancer de la prostate ne différait pas significativement dans les groupes de patients ayant reçu Proscar ou un placebo.

Avant de commencer le traitement et périodiquement pendant le traitement par Proscar, il est recommandé d’examiner les patients au moyen d’un examen rectal et d’autres méthodes pour détecter la présence d’un cancer de la prostate. Le dosage du PSA sérique est également utilisé pour détecter le cancer de la prostate. En général, avec un taux de PSA de base supérieur à 10 ng / ml (Hybritech), un examen approfondi du patient doit être effectué, y compris, si nécessaire, une biopsie. Avec un taux de PSA compris entre 4 et 10 ng / ml, un examen plus approfondi du patient est recommandé. Il existe un important chevauchement des niveaux de PSA chez les hommes atteints du cancer de la prostate qui ne sont pas atteints de cette maladie. Ainsi, chez les hommes atteints d'adénome de la prostate, les valeurs de PSA normales n'excluent pas le cancer de la prostate, quel que soit le traitement par Proscar.

Proscarva provoque une diminution d'environ 50% du PSA sérique chez les patients atteints d'adénome de la prostate, même en présence d'un cancer de la prostate. Cette diminution des taux sériques de PSA chez les patients présentant un adénome de la prostate et traités par Proscaroma doit être prise en compte lors de l’évaluation des taux de PSA, cette diminution n’excluant pas le cancer de la prostate concomitant. Cette diminution est prévisible sur l’ensemble des taux de PSA, bien que cela puisse varier d’un patient à l’autre. Chez la plupart des patients recevant Proscar® pendant 6 mois ou plus, les valeurs de PSA doivent être doublées par rapport aux valeurs normales chez les patients ne prenant pas de traitement. Une telle correction permet de préserver la sensibilité et la spécificité de la détermination du PSA et renforce sa capacité à détecter le cancer de la prostate.

Toute augmentation prolongée des taux de PSA chez un patient recevant un traitement par finastéride à 5 mg nécessite un examen approfondi pour en déterminer les causes, notamment le non-respect du schéma thérapeutique de Proscar.

 Influence sur les données de laboratoire. Effet sur le niveau de PSA

Les taux sériques de PSA sont en corrélation avec l'âge et le volume de la prostate du patient, alors que le volume de la prostate est en corrélation avec l'âge du patient. Lors de l'évaluation des paramètres de laboratoire du PSA, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte le fait que le niveau de PSA diminue pendant le traitement avec Proscar. La plupart des patients subissent une diminution rapide du PSA au cours des premiers mois de traitement, après quoi le niveau de PSA se stabilise à un nouveau niveau, qui correspond à environ la moitié de la valeur initiale. De ce point de vue, chez les patients typiques recevant Proscar pendant 6 mois ou plus, les valeurs de PSA doivent être doublées par rapport aux valeurs normales chez les personnes ne prenant pas de traitement.

EFFETS SECONDAIRES

Les effets indésirables les plus courants sont l’impuissance et une diminution de la libido. Ces effets indésirables se produisent au début du traitement et disparaissent avec un traitement supplémentaire chez la plupart des patients.

Les effets indésirables rapportés au cours des essais cliniques et / ou lors de l'utilisation après commercialisation sont répertoriés dans le tableau ci-dessous.

La fréquence des effets indésirables est définie comme suit: très souvent (≥1 / 10), souvent (≥1 / 100 - <1>

Système d'organes
fréquence des manifestations
Du système immunitaire
 
Inconnu:   réactions d'hypersensibilité, y compris prurit, urticaire et œdème de Quincke (y compris gonflement des lèvres, de la langue, de la gorge et du visage)
De la psyché
 
 
 
Souvent une   diminution de la libido.
Inconnu:   baisse de la libido pouvant persister après l'arrêt du traitement, dépression.
Du système cardiovasculaire
Inconnu:   palpitations.
Du foie et des voies biliaires
Inconnu:   taux élevés d'enzymes hépatiques.
De la peau et du tissu sous-cutané
Rarement éruption cutanée .
Inconnu:   prurit, urticaire.
Du système reproducteur et des glandes mammaires
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Souvent l'impuissance .
Trouble rare de l' éjaculation , douleur et hypertrophie des glandes mammaires.
Inconnu:   douleur dans les testicules, dysfonction érectile, pouvant survenir après l'arrêt du traitement; infertilité masculine et / ou altération réversible de la qualité du sperme (une normalisation ou une amélioration de la qualité du sperme a été rapportée après l'arrêt de l'utilisation du finastéride).
par la recherche
Souvent une   diminution de l'éjaculat.

De plus, dans des études cliniques et dans des applications post-commercialisation, le cancer du sein a été rapporté chez des hommes prenant du finastéride. Vous devez immédiatement informer votre médecin de tout changement dans les tissus de la glande mammaire, à savoir gonflement, douleur, gynécomastie ou écoulement des mamelons.

L’étude MTOPS a comparé le finastéride, 5 mg / jour (n = 768), la doxazosine, 4 ou 8 mg / jour (n = 756), un traitement d'association au finastéride, 5 mg / jour et la doxazosine, 4 ou 8 mg / jour ( n = 786) et un placebo (n = 737). Le profil d'innocuité et de tolérabilité du traitement d'association correspond aux profils des composants individuels. L'incidence des troubles éjaculatoires chez les patients prenant un traitement d'association était la somme comparative de l'incidence des effets indésirables pour les deux monothérapies.

Dans une étude contrôlée par placebo de sept ans portant sur 1 882 hommes en bonne santé, dont 9060 biopsies de la prostate à l'aiguille étaient disponibles pour analyse, un cancer de la prostate a été détecté chez 803 (18,4%) des hommes prenant Proscar   ®  et chez 1147 (24,4%) des hommes a pris un placebo. Dans le groupe d'administration du médicament Proscar   ®   280, les hommes (6,4%) avaient un cancer de la prostate avec des scores de Gleason de 7 à 10 détectés par biopsie à l'aiguille, contre 237 (5,1%) des hommes du groupe placebo. Des tests supplémentaires indiquent que les avantages accrus du cancer de la prostate de haut grade observés dans le  groupe d'administration de Proscar  ®peuvent s'expliquer par l'influence de Proscar   ®.  sur le volume de la prostate. Sur le total des cas de cancer de la prostate diagnostiqués dans cette étude, 98% des cas ont été classés comme cancer intracapsulaire (stade T1 ou T2). L'information sur la relation entre l'utilisation prolongée de Proscar et les tumeurs avec un score de Gleason de 7-10 n'est pas disponible.

Données d'analyse de laboratoire

Lors de l'évaluation d'études de laboratoire portant sur l'antigène spécifique de la prostate (PSA), il convient de garder à l'esprit que les taux de PSA sont réduits chez les patients prenant Proscar. Chez la plupart des patients, une diminution rapide du PSA est observée au cours des premiers mois de traitement, après quoi le niveau de PSA se stabilise à un nouveau niveau initial. Le niveau initial après traitement correspond à environ la moitié de la valeur avant traitement. Par conséquent, chez la plupart des patients prenant Proscar pendant six mois ou plus, il convient de doubler les valeurs de PSA pour les comparer aux valeurs normales chez les hommes non traités.

Dans les tests de laboratoire standard, il n'y avait pas d'autres différences entre les patients recevant Proscar et les patients recevant un placebo. 

Surdose

Chez les patients ayant reçu Proscar à une dose allant jusqu'à 400 mg une fois et Proscar à une dose allant jusqu'à 80 mg par jour pendant 3 mois, aucun effet indésirable était absent.

Il n'y a pas de recommandations de traitement spécifiques pour un surdosage de Proscar.

INTERACTION

Aucune interaction cliniquement significative avec d'autres médicaments n'a été identifiée. Proscar n'a pas d'effet notable sur le système enzymatique, métabolisé par les médicaments associés au cytochrome P450. Bien que le risque d'infection du finastéride sur la pharmacocinétique d'autres médicaments soit jugé faible, il est probable que les inhibiteurs et les inducteurs du cytochrome P450 3A4 affectent les concentrations plasmatiques de finastéride. Cependant, étant donné les indicateurs de sécurité établis, toute augmentation de la concentration de finastéride due à l'utilisation simultanée d'inhibiteurs du cytochrome P450 3A4 n'a probablement pas de signification clinique. Les composés testés sur l'homme comprennent le propranolol, la digoxine, le glyburide, la warfarine, la théophylline et l'antipyrine; aucune interaction cliniquement significative n'a été trouvée.

Euslogan
Select your languague:
Buy Proscar (Finasteride 5mg) online from EU registered pharmacies
Eudoctor

Proscar


What is Proscar?

Proscar will drop the production of testosterone in your body through its active ingredient, finasteride. Since testosterone stimulates the prostate to grow, this medicine can be vital to stop that process. Proscar targets the urinary issues created by the enlargement of the prostate. This condition, benign prostatic hyperplasia, or BPH may include symptoms like: you need to urinate all the time (but mostly at night), an interrupted and weak urinary stream and involuntary discharge of urine. Since prostate and urinary problems are common in older men, Proscar is the perfect solution to deal with this.

Price of Proscar and where to buy:
       Treatment Dosage Quantity Per Pill Price Buy now
Proscar Proscar 5mg 30 £2.86 £85.70 Buy Now

*Prices are subject to change due to fluctuations and may differ from the price shown for the item on the product detail page. Items in your shopping cart will always reflect the recent and final price.

Buy Proscar With an Online Prescription

An online doctor consultation means filling out a medical questionnaire. A registered EU doctor assesses your medical questionnaire and analize whether Proscar (finasteride 5mg) is suitable and safe for you to buy. After approval, a prescription is issued and send to the registered EU pharmacy. You will receive your discretely shipped Proscar pills within 3 business days.

PHARMACODYNAMICS

Finasteride is a specific inhibitor of type II 5-alpha reductase, an intracellular enzyme that converts testosterone to the more active androgen, dihydrotestosterone (DHT). With BPH, its increase depends on the conversion of testosterone to DHT in the tissues of the prostate. Finasteride highly reduces both circulating and intra-prostatic DHT. Finasteride is not related to androgen receptors. In clinical trials involving patients with moderate to severe manifestations of BPH, an enlarged prostate during digital rectal examination, and a low residual urine volume, Proscar reduced the frequency of acute urinary retention from 7/100 to 3/100 in four years and the need for surgery ( transurethroresection of the prostate and prostatectomy) from 10/100 to 5/100. This decrease was accompanied by a 2-point improvement on the QUASI-AUA symptom score scale (range 0-34), significant regression of prostate volume by about 20%, and a significant increase in urine flow rate. The MTOPS (Medical Treatment for Prostatic Symptoms) study was a 4–6 year study involving 3047 men with symptomatic BPH who were randomized to finasteride, 5 mg / day, doxazosin, 4 or 8 mg / day, finasteride combinations, 5 mg / day, and doxazosin, 4 or 8 mg / day, or placebo. The primary follow-up point was the time until the clinical progression of BPH (defined as an increase of 4 or more points on the symptom score from the beginning, an episode of acute urinary retention associated with BPH, renal failure, recurrence of urinary tract infection or urosepsis, or urinary incontinence). Compared with placebo, treatment with finasteride, doxazosin or a combination significantly reduced the risk of clinical progression of BPH by 34%, respectively (p = 0.002), 39% (p

PHARMACOKINETICS

In men, after a single dose of finasteride labeled with carbon isotopes 14 C, 39% of the dose taken was excreted in the urine in the form of metabolites (presumably, a small amount of unchanged finasteride was also excreted in the urine). 57% of the dose taken was excreted in the feces. Studies have also found that the two metabolites of finasteride tend to have a less pronounced inhibitory effect on 5-alpha reductase. The oral bioavailability of finasteride is approximately 80%. Eating does not affect the bioavailability of the drug. The maximum concentration of finasteride in blood plasma is reached 2:00 after oral administration. The absorption of the drug from the gastrointestinal tract ends 6-8 hours after administration. The half-life of finasteride in blood plasma is on average 6:00. Linking blood plasma proteins - 93%. The systemic clearance is approximately 165 ml/min, the distribution volume is 76,

In old age, the rate of excretion of finasteride is somewhat reduced. In men older than 70 years, the half-life of finasteride is approximately 8:00, while in individuals aged 18 to 60 years - 6:00. But this is not an indication for discontinuing the drug in older people.

In patients with chronic renal failure (creatinine clearance from 9 to 55 ml/min), there was no difference in the rate of excretion of a single dose of finasteride labeled with carbon isotopes 14 C, compared with healthy volunteers. The binding to plasma proteins in these groups of patients also did not differ. This is due to the fact that in patients with renal failure, the percentage of finasteride metabolites, which under normal conditions is excreted in the urine, is excreted in the feces. This is confirmed by an increase in the number of metabolites of finasteride in feces in these patients while reducing their concentration in the urine. In connection with the given in patients with renal failure who are not shown hemodialysis, dose adjustment Proscar is not needed.

There are no data on the pharmacokinetics of the drug in patients with liver failure.

Finasteride crosses the blood-brain barrier. A small amount of finasteride was shown in seminal fluid.

INDICATIONS

Treatment and control of benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH) in patients with an enlarged prostate gland in order to:

  • reduction in size (regression) of the enlarged gland, improvement of urine outflow and reduction of symptoms associated with BPH;
  • Reducing the risk of acute urinary retention and the need for surgical intervention, including transurethral resection of the prostate gland and prostatectomy.

CONTRAINDICATIONS

Hypersensitivity to finasteride or to any component of this drug. Proscar is not indicated for use by women and children.

Pregnancy: use for women when they are or may be potentially pregnant (see section "Use during pregnancy or lactation").

DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION

The recommended dose is 1 tablet of 5 mg once a day during or regardless of food intake. Proscar a can be used as monotherapy in combination with the alpha-blocker doxazosin (see section "Pharmacological properties").

The duration of treatment is determined by the doctor individually. Despite the fact that improvement in symptoms can be observed earlier, at least a six-month intake of the drug is necessary to evaluate the effectiveness of the action, after which it is necessary to continue treatment.

For elderly patients and for patients with renal failure of varying severity (decrease in creatinine clearance to 9 ml/min) dose adjustment is not required.

There is no data on the use of the drug in patients with impaired liver function. Do not use in children.

CAUTIONS, THERAPY CONTROL

Women who may become pregnant or pregnant should avoid contact with crushed Proscar® tablets or those who have lost their integrity.

Available data on the release of a small amount of finasteride from the patient's sperm took finasteride 5 mg/day. It is not known whether the male fetus can be adversely affected by the fact that the patient’s sperm influenced his mother and was treated with finasteride. If the patient’s sexual partner or is potentially pregnant, the patient is advised to avoid exposure to sperm on the partner.

Due to the ability of type II 5-alpha reductase inhibitors to inhibit the conversion of testosterone to dihydrotestosterone, these drugs, including finasteride, can cause disturbances in the development of the external genital organs of the male fetus. 

Proscar's tablets are coated and this prevents contact with the active ingredient, provided that the tablets are not crushed and have not lost their integrity.

  • Use during lactation.
  • Proscar is not shown to women. Unknown, finasteride penetrates into mother's milk.
  • Proscar is contraindicated in children.
  • Safety and effectiveness for the use of the drug in children have not been established.
  • general events

It is necessary to carefully monitor the possible development of obstructive uropathy in patients with a large residual urine volume and/or sharply reduced urine flow.

The clinical benefits of Proscaroma treatment in patients with prostate cancer have not yet been shown. Patients with prostate adenoma and elevated PSA levels were observed in controlled clinical trials with several definitions of PSA and a prostate biopsy. In these studies, Proscaroma treatment did not affect the incidence of prostate cancer. The overall incidence of prostate cancer did not differ significantly in the groups of patients who received Proscar or placebo.

Before starting treatment and periodically during treatment with Proscar, it is recommended that patients be examined by rectal examination and other methods for the presence of prostate cancer. Serum PSA determination is also used to detect prostate cancer. In general, with a baseline PSA level of more than 10 ng/ml (Hybritech), a thorough examination of the patient should be carried out, including, if necessary, a biopsy. With a PSA level in the range of 4-10 ng/ml, further examination of the patient is recommended. There is a significant overlap in PSA levels in men with prostate cancer who do not have this disease. So, in men with prostate adenoma, normal PSA values ​​do not rule out prostate cancer, regardless of Proscar's treatment.

Proscarva causes a decrease in serum PSA by approximately 50% in patients with prostate adenoma, even in the presence of prostate cancer. This decrease in serum PSA levels in patients with prostate adenoma receiving Proscaroma treatment should be taken into account when evaluating PSA levels since this decrease does not exclude concomitant prostate cancer. This decrease is predictable over the entire range of PSA levels, although this may vary in individual patients. In most patients who receive Proscar® for 6 months or more, PSA values ​​should be doubled compared to normal values ​​for those not taking treatment. Such a correction allows preserving the sensitivity and specificity of PSA determination and supports its ability to detect prostate cancer.

With any prolonged increase in PSA levels in a patient receiving treatment with finasteride 5 mg, a thorough examination is necessary to determine the causes, including non-compliance with Proscar's regimen.

 Influence on laboratory data. Effect on PSA Level

Serum PSA levels correlate with the patient’s age and prostate volume, while the prostate volume correlates with the patient’s age. When evaluating PSA laboratory parameters, it is necessary to take into account the fact that the PSA level decreases during the treatment with Proscar. Most patients experience a rapid decrease in PSA during the first months of treatment, after which the PSA level stabilizes at a new level, which is approximately half the baseline value. From this point of view, in typical patients receiving Proscar for 6 months or more, PSA values ​​should be doubled compared to normal values ​​in people not taking treatment.

SIDE EFFECTS

The most common side effects are impotence and decreased libido. These adverse reactions occur at the beginning of the course of therapy and pass with further treatment in most patients.

Adverse reactions reported during clinical trials and/or during post-marketing use are listed in the table below.

The frequency of adverse reactions is defined as: very often (≥1 / 10), often (≥1 / 100 - <1>

organ system
frequency of manifestations
From the immune system
 
Unknown:  hypersensitivity reactions, including pruritus, urticaria and Quincke edema (including swelling of the lips, tongue, throat, and face)
From the psyche
 
 
 
Often a  decrease in libido.
Unknown:  decreased libido, which may continue after discontinuation of therapy, depression.
From the cardiovascular system
Unknown:  palpitations.
On the part of the liver and biliary tract
Unknown:  elevated levels of liver enzymes.
On the part of the skin and subcutaneous tissue
Infrequently rash.
Unknown:  pruritus, urticaria.
From the reproductive system and mammary glands
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Often impotence.
Infrequent ejaculation disorder, soreness, and enlargement of the mammary glands.
Unknown:  pain in the testicles, erectile dysfunction, which may last after discontinuation of treatment; male infertility and/or reversible impairment of sperm quality (normalization or improvement of sperm quality was reported after stopping the use of finasteride).
by research
Often a  decrease in the ejaculate.

In addition, in clinical studies and in post-marketing applications, breast cancer has been reported in men taking finasteride. You should immediately inform your doctor about any changes in the tissues of the mammary gland, namely, swelling, pain, gynecomastia or discharge from the nipples.

The MTOPS study compared finasteride, 5 mg / day (n = 768), doxazosin, 4 or 8 mg / day (n = 756), combination therapy with finasteride, 5 mg / day, and doxazosin, 4 or 8 mg / day (n = 786), and placebo (n = 737). The safety and tolerability profile of combination therapy corresponded to the profiles of the individual components. The incidence of ejaculatory disorders in patients taking combination therapy was the comparative sum of the incidence of adverse reactions for the two monotherapy.

In a seven-year, placebo-controlled study involving 18882 healthy men, of which 9060 needle prostate biopsy data were available for analysis, prostate cancer was detected in 803 (18.4%) men taking Proscar  ® and in 1147 (24.4%) men who took a placebo. In the administration group of the drug Proscar  ®  280, men (6.4%) had prostate cancer with Gleason scores of 7-10 detected by needle biopsy, compared with 237 (5.1%) men in the placebo group. Additional tests indicate that the increased benefits of high-grade prostate cancer that were observed in the Proscar ® administration group can be explained by the influence of Proscar  ®  on the volume of the prostate. Of the total cases of prostate cancer diagnosed in this study, 98% of cases were classified as Intracapsular (stage T1 or T2) cancer. Information on the relationship between prolonged use of Proscar's and tumors with a Gleason score of 7-10 is not available.

Laboratory Analysis Data

When evaluating laboratory studies of prostate-specific antigen (PSA), it should be borne in mind that PSA levels are reduced in patients taking Proscar. In most patients, a rapid decrease in PSA is observed in the first months of therapy, after which the PSA level stabilizes to a new initial level. The initial level after treatment is approximately half the value before treatment. Therefore, in most patients taking Proscar for six months or more, PSA values ​​should be doubled to compare with normal ranges in men, not treated.

In standard laboratory tests, there were no other differences between patients receiving Proscar and patients receiving a placebo. 

OVERDOSE

In patients who received Proscar in a dose of up to 400 mg once and Proscar in a dose of up to 80 mg per day for 3 months, any unwanted effects were absent.

There are no specific treatment recommendations for an overdose of Proscar.

INTERACTION

No clinically significant interactions with other drugs have been identified. Proscar does not have a noticeable effect on the enzyme system, which is metabolized by drugs associated with cytochrome P450. Although the risk that finasteride affects the pharmacokinetics of other drugs is assessed to be small, it is likely that inhibitors and inducers of cytochrome P450 3A4 affect plasma concentrations of finasteride. However, given the established safety indicators, any increase in finasteride concentration due to the simultaneous use of cytochrome P450 3A4 inhibitors is unlikely to have clinical significance. Human-tested compounds include propranolol, digoxin, glyburide, warfarin, theophylline, and antipyrine; no clinically significant interactions were found.